(Video) Sri Lanka celebrate Suryakumar Yadav's wicket despite not-out verdict by DRS

Sri Lankan players don't seem to understand the DRS rules well enough.

Aryan Surana

Sri Lanka's knowledge of DRS rules and regulations was laid bare in what was a comedy of errors in the third and final ODI against India. Batting at number four, Suryakumar Yadav opted for the trademark sweep and was rapped on the front pad by debutant Pradeep Jayawickrama. The umpire vindicated the appeal only for India to sent the decision upstairs.

The ball-tracking mechanism showed impact to be outside the line but Sri Lankan players erupted into a loud cheer in the belief that the on-field call will be upheld. However, the third umpire deserves the share of the blame as instead of halting the process mid-way and asking the on-field umpire to reverse his decision, he decided to complete the replay where the ball proceeded to hit the stumps.

Such was the state of confusion that even Yadav seemed to accept his fate and began trudging towards the pavilion. Thankfully, better sense prevailed as Kumar Dharamsena, the on-field umpire, was alert enough to make the right call and declare the batsman not out.