(Photo) BCCI proposes six-team women's IPL from next year


Aryan Surana

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has put forth a proposal for a six-team women's IPL from next year. At a Governing Council meeting of the Indian Premier League in Mumbai on Friday, a decision was taken that due efforts will be made to kick off a six-team annual Twenty20 tournament for the women's cricketers. This year, however, there will be the normal Women's Twenty20 challenge which consists of four teams. The GC felt that there is potential for the women's IPL and it has been fuelled by sponsorship for the Women's T20 Challenge in 2020