Jonny Bairstow continues to misfire in New Zealand ODIs

Jonny Bairstow is having a tough time with the bat in the ODI series versus New Zealand, with Matt Henry outsmarting the opener at Lord’s. Bairstow pushed at the wobble-seam delivery, but it nipped away a touch to catch the edge. The nick went low to Daryl Mitchell who was stationed at widish slip, and he snaffled it just above the turf. Having missed the opening ODI, Bairstow has scored nothing of note in the three ODIs he has featured in against the Kiwis.

New Zealand, however, search for the second wicket after removing Bairstow early once again as Dawid Malan has extended his rich vein of form. He fell prey to the nervous nineties in the third ODI even as Ben Stokes registered his fastest century in the ODI format of 76 balls. The stylish southpaw who is batting at the top of the order for England has another chance to breach three figures as he raises a fifty in the fourth ODI at the mecca of cricket.

New Zealand (Playing XI): Devon Conway, Will Young, Henry Nicholls, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham(w/c), Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Kyle Jamieson, Matt Henry, Tim Southee, Ben Lister

England (Playing XI): Jonny Bairstow, Dawid Malan, Joe Root, Harry Brook, Jos Buttler(w/c), Liam Livingstone, Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, David Willey, Brydon Carse, Reece Topley

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Broadcast Schedule

England v Ireland ODI series
ENG v IRE 2nd ODI, Trent Bridge
23rd September
Start time: 11:00 am BST
ENG v IRE 3rd ODI, County Ground, Bristol
26th September
Start time: 12:30 pm BST