Watch Glenn Phillips smash two sixes against spin

New Zealand produced a fine all-round show in the final T20I on Tuesday to draw the four-match T20I series level. Having conceded the opening two matches, the visitors managed to clinch the next two to equalize the rubber and finish on a satisfactory note ahead of the ODI leg of the tour. England’s hopes of defending the 176-run target were thwarted by Glenn Phillips and Mark Chapman as the left-right duo found boundaries regularly to set the stage for a successful chase.

Earlier, Jonny Bairstow assumed the mantle of the chief aggressor in the England innings as he hammered Matt Henry for a four and a six over deep backward square leg to blaze off the blocks in the final T20I on Tuesday. Kyle Jamieson was put under the pump by Bairstow in his first over as the freewheeling opener smashed him for two sixes and a four to give England a tremendous headstart. Bairstow galloped to 48 off just 24 by the end of the powerplay as England made 63. From thereon, New Zealand slowly took charge with their spinners pulling things back. From 126/2 after 13 overs, England could only post 175/8 as New Zealand applied the brakes to concede only 49 in the final seven overs.

Broadcast Schedule

England v Ireland ODI series
ENG v IRE 2nd ODI, Trent Bridge
23rd September
Start time: 11:00 am BST
ENG v IRE 3rd ODI, County Ground, Bristol
26th September
Start time: 12:30 pm BST