Hampshire pacer John Turner selected for New Zealand T20s

England have named uncapped fast bowler John Turner in their T20I squad for the series against New Zealand.

He was among the two wildcard picks by defending champions Trent Rockets in the Hundred this season, after a sterling show in the T20 Blast this year. In 11 matches, Turner ensnared 21 wickets at an astonishing average and economy rate of 11.76 and 6.67 respectively. No other bowler who registered more than 10 wickets in the tournament had a better average than the Hampshire speedster.

Uncapped Surrey quick Gus Atkinson has earned his maiden international call-up as well and features in both the white-ball squads for the New Zealand assignment. Josh Tongue, who made his international debut in Ashes 2023, also gets a crack at the T20I format.

England ODI squad: Jos Buttler (c), Moeen Ali, Gus Atkinson, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey, Mark Wood, Chris Woakes

England T20I squad: Jos Buttler (c) Rehan Ahmed, Moeen Ali, Gus Atkinson, Jonny Bairstow, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Ben Duckett, Will Jacks, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Josh Tongue, John Turner, Luke Wood

Broadcast Schedule

IPL 2024
IPL 2024 Q1 KKR v SRH
21st May
Start time: 3:00 pm BST
England v Pakistan 2024 T20 series
1st T20, ENG v PAK, Headingley
22nd May
Start time: 6:30 pm BST