Rohit Sharma inflicts direct hit as Mumbai gain ascendancy

Both Mumbai Indians and Lucknow Super Giants made similar starts in the PowerPlay during the Eliminator. Ishan Kishan blazed off the blocks with three boundaries for Mumbai Indians and Kyle Mayers sent a couple of balls to the fence in the opening over of the steep chase. Mumbai Indians lost Rohit Sharma and Ishan Kishan in quick succession whereas Lucknow Super Giants were thwarted by the wicket of Mayers and Prerak Mankad.

That’s where the similarities ended, though, as Lucknow imploded in dramatic fashion, losing their last eight wickets for just 32 runs to bow out of Indian Premier League 2023. Akash Madhwal was the wrecker-in-chief, breaking into the record books by achieving the best figures in the history of IPL playoffs (5/5) and the fifth-best overall. In pursuit of 183, Lucknow self-destructed to fold for 101, facilitating Mumbai’s passage to the second qualifier, where they will meet Gujarat Titans who lost to Chennai Super Kings in Qualifier 1.

Broadcast Schedule

England v Pakistan 2024 T20 series
1st T20, ENG v PAK, Headingley
22nd May
Start time: 6:30 pm BST