Nicholas Pooran out first ball in steep chase

Akash Madhwal’s impressive five-wicket haul in the Eliminator helped Mumbai Indians swat aside Lucknow Super Giants at Chepauk. In pursuit of 183, LSG self-destructed to fold for 101 as they lost their last eight wickets for just 32 runs. Madhwal was the wrecker-in-chief, breaking into the record books by achieving the best figures in the history of IPL playoffs and the fifth-best overall.

Both teams made similar starts in the PowerPlay. Ishan Kishan blazed off the
blocks with three boundaries for Mumbai Indians and Kyle Mayers sent a couple of
balls to the fence in the opening over of the steep chase. Mumbai Indians lost Rohit Sharma and Ishan Kishan in quick succession whereas Lucknow Super Giants were thwarted by the wicket of Mayers and Prerak Mankad.

That’s where the similarities ended, though, as Lucknow imploded in dramatic fashion, losing their last eight wickets for just 32 runs to bow out of Indian Premier League 2023.

Broadcast Schedule

WT20 2024
AUS v NAM, North Sound (WLW)
12th June
Start time: 1:30 am BST
USA v IND, New York
12th June
Start time: 3:30 pm BST
WI v NZ, Tarouba, (WLW)
13th June
Start time: 1:30 am BST

See the full schedule