Ayush Badoni swipes across the line to hear death rattle

Akash Madhwal was the wrecker-in-chief, returning 5/5 – the best figures in the history of IPL playoffs – to take Mumbai Indians to the second qualifier. His sterling performance knocked the wind out of the sails of Lucknow Super Giants, who lost their last eight wickets for just 32 runs to bow out of Indian Premier League 2023.

Both the franchises made near-identical starts in the PowerPlay. Ishan Kishan blazed off the
blocks with three boundaries for Mumbai Indians and Kyle Mayers sent a couple of
balls to the fence in the opening over of the steep chase. Mumbai Indians lost Rohit Sharma and Ishan Kishan in quick succession whereas Lucknow Super Giants were thwarted by the wicket of Mayers and Prerak Mankad.

That’s where the similarities ended, though, as Lucknow imploded in dramatic fashion. Mumbai Indians will now meet Gujarat Titans in the second qualifier on May 26 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

Broadcast Schedule

IPL 2024
IPL 2024 Q1 KKR v SRH
21st May
Start time: 3:00 pm BST
England v Pakistan 2024 T20 series
1st T20, ENG v PAK, Headingley
22nd May
Start time: 6:30 pm BST