Delhi Capitals turn campaign around with back-to-back wins

Delhi Capitals’ bowlers, led by spin twins Axar Patel and Kuldeep Yadav, successfully defended 144 against Sunrisers Hyderabad, who made a hash of the manageable chase.

Ishant Sharma should have got a wicket off the very first over but Mayank Agarwal was dropped on nought. He looked in good touch in the powerplay while his opening partner struggled. Harry Brook tried to play a cheeky shot against Anrich Nortje and perished. The hosts scored just 36 runs in the first six overs and the Capitals tightened the noose further in the middle overs. There was a 26-ball phase without any boundary, which resulted in the dismissals of Agarwal and Tripathi in quick succession.

The spin duo of Kuldeep Yadav and Axar Patel dented SRH even more by removing Aiden Markram and Abhishek Sharma respectively. Nortje nipped out Heinrich Klaasen in the penultimate over and Mukesh Kumar held his nerve in the final over as Delhi Capitals collected an improbable victory.

Broadcast Schedule

WT20 2024
AUS v NAM, North Sound (WLW)
12th June
Start time: 1:30 am BST
USA v IND, New York
12th June
Start time: 3:30 pm BST
WI v NZ, Tarouba, (WLW)
13th June
Start time: 1:30 am BST

See the full schedule