Mumbai Indians crowned inaugural WPL champions

Mumbai Indians were crowned champions of the inaugural Women’s Premier League in a tense, low-scoring affair at the Cricket Club of India in Mumbai. Experienced campiagner Nat Sciver-Brunt helped Mumbai get across the line, backing up her brilliant show in the Eliminator with a more measured performance worth 60* off 55 balls. Sciver-Brunt’s half-century and her crucial partnership of 72 with captain Harmanpreet Kaur (37) were instrumental to Indians’ successful chase after a clinical bowling effort, particularly from Hayley Matthews and Melie Kerr, that restricted the Delhi Capitals to a measly total of 131.

The collapse of 6 for 6 saw Delhi Capitals slip from 73/3 to 79/9 and they ended up with a below-par total as a result, notwithstanding the unbeaten 52-run stand off just 24 balls between Shikha Pandey and Radha Yadav.

Brief scores: Delhi Capitals 131/9 in 20 overs (Meg Lanning 35, Radha Yadav 27*; Hayley Matthews 3-5, Issy Wong 3-42, Melie Kerr 2-18) lost to Mumbai Indians 134/3 in 19.3 overs (Nat Sciver-Brunt 60*, Harmanpreet Kaur 37; Radha Yadav 1-24) by seven wickets.

Broadcast Schedule

England v Ireland 2023
ENG v IRE only Test, Lord's
1st June to 4th June
Start time: 11:00 am BST
WTC final
WTC Final AUS v IND, The Oval
7th June to 12th June
Start time: 11:00 am BST