Frontfoot planted across, Kohli caught stone-dead by Starc

Virat Kohli was the cynosure of all eyes at the Wankhede Stadium when he walked out to the middle to help India chase 189 against Australia in the first ODI on Friday. However, Mitchell Starc’s booming inswinger sent the champion batter packing for 4 off nine balls.

The fifth ball of the fifth over, bowled by the left-arm spearhead, was a full inswinger that moved appreciably. His head falling over, Kohli tried to flick it, but the speed did not permit contact. The ball thudded into his pads, and the umpire had no hesitation in raising his finger. Even Kohli knew he was caught plumb in front, and didn’t bother challenging the on-field call.

This was the first time Starc dismissed Kohli in ODIs, where the maestro averages 57.45 at a healthy strike rate of 93.7. Starc is yet to dismiss Kohli in the shortest format but he has been able to net the big fish thrice in Tests.