India reach WTC final after Sri Lanka lose an edge-of-the-seat thriller

Following New Zealand’s exciting triumph over Sri Lanka in Christchurch on Sunday, India have secured their berth in the World Test Championship 2021-23 final, where they will meet Australia at The Oval in London from June 7. India have now become back-to-back finalists in WTC, having made it to the title bout of the maiden cycle where they lost to New Zealand, who underperformed in their WTC campaign this time around.

As India headed into their final Test of this cycle – against Australia in Ahmedabad – it was a two-horse race between them and Sri Lanka for the one vacant spot for the title clash. The qualification scenario was complicated for Sri Lanka, as they didn’t only need to win both their Tests in New Zealand but also hope for India to either lose or draw in Ahmedabad. Though their hopes must’ve shot up given the sort of start Australia made in the fourth Test and their own domination in the first couple of days in Christchurch, the dream of punching the ticket to the grand finale was shattered on a rain-affected Day 5, with the islanders suffering a painful last-ball loss.

Broadcast Schedule

WT20 2024
AUS v NAM, North Sound (WLW)
12th June
Start time: 1:30 am BST
USA v IND, New York
12th June
Start time: 3:30 pm BST
WI v NZ, Tarouba, (WLW)
13th June
Start time: 1:30 am BST

See the full schedule