Spirited Bangladesh seal series with four-wicket win

On an archetypal Dhaka surface assisting spinners, Bangladesh ticked all the right boxes and held their nerves to secure an insurmountable 2-0 series lead over England, the reigning T20 World Cup champions. Mehidy Hasan Miraz, who walked into the XI for this particular game, shone with figures of 4 for 12 and helped restrict England to 117. Najmul Hossain Shanto then steered Bangladesh in a jittery run chase with an unbeaten 46 and delivered the win with seven balls to spare.

England were 50/1 after the PowerPlay as Philip Salt and Moeen Ali took Bangladesh to the cleaners after losing Dawid Malan early. Taskin Ahmed, who claimed the opener’s wicket, was superb in his three overs upfront, conceding only 19 runs and it was only in the final over of the PowerPlay that Nasum Ahmed was carted for 13 runs, the surge taking England to a good score after the first-six. Then next over, Shakib Al Hasan had Salt caught-and-bowled by generating extra bounce. From then on, England lost the plot to end up with a lowly total that Bangladesh managed to overhaul.

Broadcast Schedule

WTC final
WTC Final AUS v IND, The Oval
7th June to 12th June
Start time: 11:00 am BST