Suryakumar Yadav unfurls trademark pick-up shot against Lockie Ferguson

On a pitch that offered assistance to the spinners, Mitchell Santner, Michael Bracewell and Ish Sodhi picked up five wickets between them while Daryl Mitchell cracked a 30-ball unbeaten 59 to help New Zealand gain a 1-0 lead in the three-match T20I series against India in Ranchi. The home side could only muster 155/9, in a daunting chase of 177.

The duo of Suryakumar Yadav and Hardik Pandya raised hopes of India mounting a comeback. The pair used slog-sweeps, whip, cut and loft to put some pressure back on New Zealand’s bowlers but the hosts were left with too much to do in the end, notwithstanding Washington Sundar’s quickfire fifty.

Broadcast Schedule

WT20 2024
G52 AFG v BAN, St Vincent (WLW)
25th June to 26th June
Start time: 1:30 am BST