Steve Smith’s slip catch overturned by third umpire

With Australia requiring nine wickets to secure an innings win in the third Test against South Africa at the SCG, Steve Smith’s catch of Heinrich Klaasen at first slip was ruled not out by the third umpire.

In his ninth over of the Proteas’ second innings, Nathan Lyon induced an outside edge off Klassen, which was grabbed behind the stumps by Smith. The on-field decision sent upstairs for a review suggested that Smith’s fingers weren’t convincingly underneath the ball. The hosts were taken aback by the decision.

Broadcast Schedule

WTC final
WTC Final AUS v IND, The Oval
7th June to 12th June
Start time: 11:00 am BST