Keshav Maharav pulls Pat Cummins for a boundary

Australia went into the final day at Sydney pursuing 14 South African wickets to complete a series sweep, but were met by the resilience of South Africa’s eighth-wicket pair of Keshav Maharaj and Simon Harmer in the first innings, with the former growing in confidence to even pull Pat Cummins for a boundary.

Josh Hazlewood and Nathan Lyon combined to wrap up South Africa’s innings and Cummins enforced the follow-on. Faint hopes of pulling off an improbable win existed for Australia, only to be quashed by Sarel Erwee, who batted 125 balls for his unbeaten 42 and Temba Bavuma, who faced 42 for 17.