South Africa were optimistic that they had Marnus Labuschagne out caught, and the on-field umpires soft-signalled out only for the TV umpire to overturn his verdict and deem Simon Harmer’s catch illegitimate. It was a moment of controversy on a curtailed day of the test match between Australia and South Africa at the SCG on Wednesday, and the tourists were displeased about the overruling.
Marnus Labuschagne, batting on 70 at the time, edged Marco Jansen to first slip and Simon Harmer claimed the catch without a hint of apprehension. The on-field umpires came together and went upstairs, their soft-signal being out. However, multiple slow-motion replays and close up shots later, TV umpire Richard Kettleborough concluded there was ample evidence to change the on-field call.
Caught at slip! Or maybe not…
Marnus Labuschagne is not out on 70 #AUSvSA pic.twitter.com/OZ6N06fRZ6
— cricket.com.au (@cricketcomau) January 4, 2023