West Zone ride on Jaiswal’s heroics to clinch Duleep Trophy

West Zone, along expected lines, completed a plain-sailing triumph over South Zone on the final day in Coimbatore to clinch the Duleep Trophy. Having gained the ascendancy by the draw of stumps on the fourth day, West Zone completed the formalities by picking up the final four wickets on the fifth morning.

The result was a foregone conclusion when South Zone crumbled to 146/6 in pursuit of 529. With the top six back in the shed, R Sai Kishore and T Ravi Teja were handed an almost improbable task of having to bat out most of the overs on the final day. They did put up a resistance by frustrating the West Zone attack for a while on Sunday, but it was only a matter of time before West Zone took the remaining wickets to lay their hands on the silverware.

It was a terrific turnaround by West Zone after they had given away a first-innings lead of 57. They came up with a red-hot batting effort in their second essay to post a massive 585/4 on the board that pretty much knocked South Zone out of the contest.