Lancashire opener Phil Salt given the spot vacated by Jason Roy

Ben Stokes is back in England’s 15-man squad for the T20 World Cup, scheduled to be staged from next month in Australia. The same 15-member squad will also contest Australia in the three-match T20I series in October before the World Cup. In the spot vacated by the out-of-form Jason Roy, comes Lancashire opener Phil Salt, who made his T20I debut last year and has featured in four games. He comes with a T20 strike rate of 150.31.

T20 World Cup Squad: Jos Buttler, Moeen Ali, Jonathan Bairstow, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

Travelling Reserves: Liam Dawson, Richard Gleeson, Tymal Mills