(Video) KL Rahul named skipper for South Africa ODIs, Ashwin makes the cut

With Rohit Sharma ruled out of the three one-dayers against South Africa due to a hamstring injury, KL Rahul has been appointed as the captain of the 18-member squad announced by the BCCI on Friday, December 31. Pacer Jasprit Bumrah has been appointed as Rahul’s deputy. Ace off-spinner R Ashwin, who last played an ODI in 2017, has been recalled to the side for the series which is scheduled to begin on January 19.

The squad includes several young players who have impressed in the recently-concluded Vijay Hazare Trophy, India’s domestic one-day competition, with the likes of Ruturaj Gaikwad, Washington Sundar and Venkatesh Iyer making the cut.