Ben Stokes committed the cardinal sin of overstepping not once but a fair few times in his new-ball spell, although it was amusingly called out by the third umpire only on the occasion when it mattered the most. Stokes got the fourth ball of his first over to tail in into Warner and knock his stumps out but replays confirmed the seamer had not bowled a legitimate delivery. England had to pay a heavy price as they were denied the wicket of Warner, who has looked a bit scratchy at the crease.
DAVID WARNER SURVIVES!
By the closest of margins Ben Stokes bowls Warner on a No Ball.
— Fox Cricket (@FoxCricket) December 9, 2021
@guerillacricket someone might wanna ask the ump to check Warner’s pockets, think he might have England’s luck in there.
— Anthony Condon (@AnthCondon) December 9, 2021