(Photo) Theekshana, Jayawickrama crack the nod as Sri Lanka announce T20 World Cup squad

Sri Lanka have confirmed their 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2021. Dasun Shanaka has retained the captaincy reins as the islanders begin their campaign on 18 October against Namibia in Abu Dhabi in Group A of the First Round, where they have also drawn Ireland and the Netherlands.

The notable omissions from the squad were Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Mendis and Danushka Gunathilaka, who were banned for a year on grounds of violating the Covid-19 protocols on their tour of England in July. With Kusal Perera regaining match fitness, incumbent keeper Minod Bhanuka also misses out.

21-year-old off-spinner Maheesh Theekshana, who made his T20I debut in the first match against South Africa and dismissed Heinrich Klaasen, has cracked the nod. The youngster was also impressive in his ODI debut earlier this week, picking up a four-wicket haul.

Broadcast Schedule

England v West Indies 2024
ENG v WI 3rd Test, Edgbaston
26th July to 30th July
Start time: 11:00 am BST