ECB releases bumper 2022 schedule comprising white-ball action against India

India will revisit England shores next summer to play six white-ball games, the ECB confirmed on Wednesday, September 8. While announcing the schedule for their 2022 home summer, the ECB also stated that they will be hosting New Zealand and South Africa.

Even though England hosted New Zealand for a couple of Tests before the World Test Championship final, they will host the Blackcaps again for three Tests this time to kickstart their summer. This series involving the hosts and the defending World Test champions will count towards the 2021-23 World Test Championship cycle.

The three Tests will be ensued by a hefty volume of limited-overs action, with a dozen white-ball affairs lined up in the month of July. The T20I series against India begins on July 1 at Old Trafford in Manchester following which the teams shift base to Edgbaston and Southampton respectively for the two slam-bang contests. A three-match ODI series will be next in store, concluding at Lord’s on July 14.

England will then host South Africa for a comprehensive series from July 19 that will see the visitors play three ODIs, three T20Is and three Tests. England’s home summer will wrap up with the final Test against South Africa scheduled to commence on September 8 at The Oval. The Test series will carry a lot of significance given the World Test Championship points at stake. The ECB also confirmed that the T20 Blast Finals Day will be staged at Edgbaston on July 16. The cricketing menu is indeed looking delicious.

Broadcast Schedule

IPL 2024
IPL 2024 Q1 KKR v SRH
21st May
Start time: 3:00 pm BST
England v Pakistan 2024 T20 series
1st T20, ENG v PAK, Headingley
22nd May
Start time: 6:30 pm BST